Go Grey or Dye it?


grey hair and attitude

Going grey with attitude

This morning I got honked at for taking too long at the stop sign and it was all the fault of a grey hair.

It wasn’t my fault; I had just looked in the rear view mirror and noticed a shiny grey hair.  I was mesmerized. It wasn’t the first grey hair I’ve found.  Or the second, or third……..and I just had to isolate it and pull it out and inspect it.  All these new grey hairs make me wonder, should I let nature take its course and turn into a salt and pepper diva?  Or should I fight it with everything I’ve got until my last breath?

Some women can age gracefully, but what if you feel that it’s happening too early?  Not a fair question is it?  We all feel that way at some point. I have friends that have gone grey gracefully.  They look smart and sophisticated, stylish and even debonair.  It hasn’t made them look older, it’s made them look and act more confident.  But is it for everyone….probably not.  Some of us have facial features and skin tones that don’t suit the grey.  It can make us look older, or my worst fear; haggard and dreary.  If your grey grows in silvery and shiny, you might as well go for it, it can look stylish, current, and even trend-setting.

grey hair on christopher walken

What I’m afraid I’d look like with grey hair.

After almost 70 years my mother has finally decided to let her grey grow in.  According to her, everyone says it has a shiny sparkly, almost blonde high-lighted quality, and maybe it does; or maybe my mother would say that no matter what it looked like.

But for those of us with the wiry grey hair that sticks up in weird fashions and looks like a brillo pad?  Well dying your hair might be the answer. This other side of the coin though can involve dealing with grey roots and dyed ends.   Unfortunately this can end up looking as bad, or worse, than a blonde with brown colour sticking out at the roots. Remember, if you’re going to dye it, you HAVE to keep it up, otherwise you’ll end up looking like a skunk.  And that’s never a good look.

Going grey with style

Going grey with style.

I’d wonder what the men prefer, and with my husband having several friends dating much younger women it’s got to factor in.  Of course my hubbie would never admit to not liking it and generally he’s a good guy who’s happy as long as I’m happy.  (Also any negative comments from him might result in a zinger about bald spots and we try to avoid those at all costs)

It may come down to personal preference in the end, but I’m a lifelong hair dye addict.  And if it was hard to break that habit before then the appearance of grey hairs certainly isn’t going to do it.

Besides, I can’t afford to cause any more traffic jams at the stop sign….. unless it’s because of my crazy hot looks.

Leave a Reply

